Cats and Kittens

Photographing animals is one of my favorite things to do. Cats have so much personality and I love the challenge of capturing an image that reflects their nature. I’ve had opportunity lately to photograph several cats and I thought I’d share.

The first image is my mom’s new kitten, who she named Mike after my husband. My husband, Mike, had the same strawberry blond hair as a child. The kitten, Mike, loves to hide and jump out at you. What’s so funny is he “thinks” no one can see him. The second image is a cute kitten named Rascal that we kitten-sat for a week while it’s owners were on vacation.What I like about this photo is the claws bared and a second after I snapped the shutter, this little rascal jumped out at me. The third image is an elderly cat named Blue, who lives next door to my mom. He spends a lot of time at my mom’s house, but is very shy and doesn’t like to have his photo taken. I think this image tells us exactly how he feels about having a camera pointed in his direction!

For camera information and to view the image large, click on the photo. All images on my blog can be found in my smugmug 2012 Blog Gallery.

~ by dorisrudddesigns on July 15, 2012.

21 Responses to “Cats and Kittens”

  1. Adorable! I love the little ears popping up behind the basket :)

  2. Hello Doris, I’ve just notice that you hadn’t been around for ages. I hope all is well with you. That photo of the annoyed cat is something else :). My best, Paula

  3. Hey there!
    It has been quite long since you last visited my blog and shared your valuable feedback! :)
    Here are some tokens of remembrance, and appreciation for you. I will actually be glad if you just visit and accept, no rules necessary.
    https://randomlyabstract.wordpress.com/2013/07/22/you-are-amazing/
    Sincere wishes,
    Maria.

  4. AWh amazing! Such wonderful photos! Loving them :)

  5. You had me at “Cats”, not to mention “AND Kittens”. Cats have so much personality!

  6. I love images of cats. The last one looks a little grumpy. ;)

  7. Great photography! Your pictures made them more cute!

  8. love kittens :D

  9. I’m more of a dog person, but these cats made for some wonderful photos! Love the bokeh and blue eyes in the last shot. Nice!

    • Thanks, Gail. I love dogs too and there’ll be an upcoming blog post on work I’ve done for a local no kill shelter. Animals in general are great subjects to photograph. I love their expressive eyes (or ears).

  10. Cute cat… love it.. :)

  11. The problem with photographing animals is that they’ll suddenly move from that perfect position they were in half a second ago….

  12. Awww, “cat in a bag” I love it, great photo!

  13. As a crazy cat lady I approve. :) I love the kitten ears sticking out of the basket. Adorbs!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

