Dandelion Love

You know spring is here when dandelions start popping up everywhere. For the last several weeks I’ve been trying to capture their beauty. These two shots are some of the last ones I photographed. Tired of laying on the ground, making a spectacle of myself, I decided to shoot against a black background — I love the result.

Shot with my 50mm compact macro lens. For more camera information or to purchase, click on the photo. You can view the rest of my dandelion shots (including these two) on Smugmug.

~ by dorisrudddesigns on April 15, 2012.

41 Responses to “Dandelion Love”

  1. The detail on this is amazing!

  2. Such beautiful… :)

  3. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects (Doris Rudd Designs) […]

  4. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects (Doris Rudd Designs) […]

  5. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects (Doris Rudd Designs) […]

  6. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects (Doris Rudd Designs) […]

  7. […] Dandelion Love (dorisrudddesigns.wordpress.com) […]

  8. Love it!

  9. Stunning photographs.

  10. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects (Doris Rudd Designs) […]

  11. magical photos!

  12. These are stunning!

  13. Beautiful! There’s a magical quality to these shots.
    Laura

  14. Love them! They look like something that fairies would use.

  15. you captured the delicacy and also the rich colors when set against the black. great detail. beautiful photograph.

  16. Love both these, but I think the second is my favourite – love the slightly blue tinge to the seed heads, which look like little fireworks! Love the contrasting colours too.

    • Of all the images shot of dandelions I loved the black background best too. And the second shot is also my favorite. I had to use manual focus as my camera didn’t “see” the delicate edges of the plant. It wanted to focus on the inner stem.

  17. You’ve brought out the patterns of the seedhead beautifully – nice work :-)

  18. Amazing shots! I love the macro setting and I feel like I don’t use it enough. As you know, I’m still using the good ol’ point and shoot. So, the macro setting on that P&S is not good enough.

    • I’m not using top of the line equipment either. I keep thinking, if only I had that 100mm macro lens. . . . . I guess you do the best you can with what you have and dream. :) Thanks for the visit!

      • I agree, you do the best you can with what you got. I always forget that. Thanks for the lovely reminder!

  19. nice shots.

    http://amarnaik.wordpress.com/2012/04/14/weekly-photo-challenge-two-subjects/

  20. You rocked these Doris! Margie

  21. great great shots – Make a Wish!♥

  22. Very nice against the dark backdrop. It brings out the colours.

  23. Great detail. I love the dark backdrop. The ones in your smug
    mug gallery are very cool also.

  24. Beautiful

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

