Worldwide Photowalk – NC Zoo

This is the second year I participated in Scott Kelby’s Worldwide Photowalk. For two days in October, photographers around the globe take snapshots of the world around them, then share their images online. This year 1,116 walks were scheduled with 27,944 people registered to participate. I attended this years walk at the NC Zoo in Asheboro. We arrived shortly before the zoo opened, posed for the group shot with walk leader, Davd Verchick, and off we went into the wild. Arriving so early in the morning meant we were on hand when the animals were fed and crowds were low. The time of day combined with beautiful, cool, sunny weather allowed us to see most of the animals awake, walking around, playing and just generally alert. With the exception of the lioness who found a sunny spot and slept the entire time we were there. We met for lunch and then some of us stayed to continue shooting. This was by far my best zoo experience.

This shot of a Chilean Flamingo was taken outside of the Forest Aviary. The bird was standing in mottled sunlight which added to the contrast of the image. I loved the graceful bend of the neck and the contrast of pink feathers against the dark background. Cropping this shot proved to be challenging. I really had a hard time figuring out the crop that was best suited. I turned to my friend, Paul Wingler (Master Photographer) for help. He felt that maybe my first attempt was cropped to close and maybe adding a little space at the top would give the bird some breathing room and allow it to “fly”. The advice was good, but it meant starting the editing process over. In the end I’m pleased with the result, and really appreciated his help. If you ever get a chance to take one of Paul’s “Art of Seeing” workshops, please do so – it’s time well spent.

Also, check out these other Worldwide Photowalk links:

NC Zoo Worldwide Photowalk flickr group, click HERE.

Scott Kelby 2011 Worldwide Photowalk flickr group, click HERE.

My friend Diana Lundin also participated in the photowalk in Venice, CA. Here’s a link to the beautiful shots she captured. Click HERE.

If you’re interested in walking next year, bookmark this link to stay informed on when and where the next walks will take place. To view the winning photos from the 2010 Worldwide Photowalk, click HERE.

Image shot AV Mode with 24-105mm lens @105mm. ISO400, f4.0, exposure compensation -1. View Large.

To see the rest of my photowalk photos, click HERE.

~ by dorisrudddesigns on October 8, 2011.

23 Responses to “Worldwide Photowalk – NC Zoo”

  1. btful pic

  2. Extraordinary!

  3. breathtaking picture!

  4. beautiful colors and reflection

  5. For some reason, this reminds me of Fleetwood Mac’s album Tango In The Night. Cool!

  6. Didn’t have any round my neck of the woods. I really like this, pink colour against he dark background, slight reflection, nice very nice.

  7. Reminds me of a fabulous fashion shoot only the flamingo is wearing original colours and feathers! Fantastic shot!

  8. Beautiful picture. :)

  9. oh…my. That is the most beautiful bird I’ve ever seen in my life. Beautiful!!!

  10. What an exquisitely beautiful image. And – I love these photowalks. The results are amazing!

  11. this photo is so amazing. i loved that you decided to re-crop it so that we get the long leaves in the background that compliment the similar turns of the pink feathers.

  12. This is a gorgeous shot. Phenomenal.

  13. Your work is so gorgeous! Having fun following your blog. Is the 52 weeks just something you are doing, or is it a larger website that you have linked with? Would like to do something similar with my blog. Great idea and gets you out there every week to see great new things. Love your photo of this flamingo! Thank you for sharing. Jeanne

    • Thanks for visiting Jeanne! 52 Weeks is just something I’ve challenged myself with. I attempted a 365 Project last year, but found it too time consuming. One photo, one blog post a week is doable. You should do it! I guarantee your skills will grow. And I’ll throw in a plug for WordPress, their “postaweek2011” group is very supportive. My subscribers have steadily grown this year.

  14. This is such a beautiful photo – I love the flamingo! Nice colors against the dark subtle background.

  15. wow I love this photo, gorgeous contrast :)

  16. We love the Asheboro Zoo . . . and flamingoes! Thanks, Doris.

    That shot and reflection are perfection.

  17. Thanks for the comments! The new crop really did make a difference, Paul really knows his stuff. And, the more I look at the finished image the more I love how the grass in the background almost looks like feathers.

  18. Sensational photo.
    I’m with the master photog, I think the upper space emphasizes the beauty of the color.

  19. The Chilean Flamingo’s ballerina pose combined with the delicate pink feathers is a simply gorgeous capture! And, the flamingo’s reflection in the water takes it over the top!

  20. Another gorgeous shot. You are, indeed, imbued with a marvelous photographic vision!

  21. That flamingo is gorgeous! I was eagerly waiting to see what you produced and I’m not disappointed! Beautiful work.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

