Reflection in the Door

Back in July, I had the pleasure of attending a Paul Wingler photography seminar – The Art of Seeing. As a Master Photographer, Paul shared his extensive knowledge and experience on what makes a good photograph. The day included an on location photo shoot at the Eno River. The beautiful old grist mill, which dates back to 1778 was one of many possible subjects. After about an hour of shooting we meet back at Treyburn Country Club in Durham where we edited our images and chose two to be critiqued. The image you see here is not the one presented to the class, but rather the image presented to class — re-edited using Paul’s suggestions. I later emailed Paul this image re-edited in two versions. One in color (this one) and one in grayscale. His vote went to the grayscale image, but I think I like this one better. Something about the blue sky in the reflection that I love. Click HERE to see the grayscale version.

Shot with my 24-105mm lens, at 28mm, ISO200, f4.0. Edited using Photoshop and Topaz software. I’ll also add this was shot in Manual Mode which falls outside of my comfort zone. My standard mode of operation is AV Mode, but I’m determined to learn Manual. Paul helped me with this while we were out shooting and showed me how easy shooting Manual can be.

View Large. To see more of my Eno River images, please click HERE.

To learn more about Paul Wingler, please visit his Website and check out his Facebook page. In addition to being a great teacher, Paul is also an active part of Living Light Ministries, a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping the people of Honduras. Facilitating clean water, health education and building schools are current priorities that are being realized thanks to the help of Paul and other volunteers.

~ by dorisrudddesigns on August 14, 2011.

19 Responses to “Reflection in the Door”

  1. Marvelous POV!

  2. love the picture ^_^

  3. I like it! I probably prefer the antique quality that your b/w brought to the photo better. Both are awesome though!

  4. Thank you for the kind words! I appreciate everyone’s visit and taking the time to comment.

  5. Beautiful photos! My favorite is titled Grist Mill @ Eno River.

  6. There is always something about your photography that makes you want to just keep staring at it – something draws you in………….

  7. beautiful!

  8. Beautiful!! What gorgeous reflections..and such a great eye to have seen and captured them.

  9. I like it a lot.

  10. I’d love to say only that I love this image. But I haven’t found one image on your site that I don’t love! Really beautiful photography!

  11. I’m always a sucker for b/w, but the color really works nicely, too.
    Both versions are very nicely done, Ms. R!

  12. This is a tough one! Both so good but the reflections of the colour shot like the bright eyes shining from an aged face while the grey shot shows the amazing texture of the door, albeit with sadder eyes.

  13. This is nice. You could mix the two. Over in picassa you can highlight the color and make the rest black and white. I do that sometimes, it makes for a neat look. The spot of color makes it look like it is coming to life.

  14. Beautiful picture. The story behind it is even more wonderful and fascinating. A door that leads to just about anything. I’m a fan of you amazing works.

  15. Thanks for the comments. I’m glad if you like either of them. I’ve always been drawn to color so I guess it’s natural that it’s the one I prefer. Thanks for stopping by my blog and taking the time to comment. It’s much appreciated!

  16. Doris, I am going to tell you how I FEEL about the pictures….not what I SEE!!!! The colored one shows me that the wood is old but still sturdy and still working as well as the handle and hinges. The blue sky and green bushes makes me feel the warmth of the sunshine and life and love! Just like an old person…..still feeling the need to be needed!
    The gray one makes me feel used up, old, deterated, a memory of the past! A memory of what used to be……no life left…..dead!
    Debbie Brooks

  17. I guess my artistic instincts are not very sophisticated:
    it’s the color for me, every time.
    It’s quite wonderful —

  18. I like the B&W a tad better . . . but both are beautiful in their own way.

  19. I have to say i prefer the black and white. But i’m also bias to bw images myself. If you like, in the end, thats all that really matters!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

