Impatient for Dinner

A couple of weeks ago I attended a New Wine Release party for one of my clients and friends – Junius Lindsay Vineyard. Walking among the rows of grapes this nest of baby birds was discovered. I took a few shots, not lingering too long, as momma bird made her presence known not far away. It was amazing to see such tiny creatures so close. This little guy seemed pretty indignant that his mother flew away. Maybe his dinner was interrupted?

If you get the chance, plan a visit to this vineyard. Located in the small community of Welcome, NC, about an hour drive from Alamance county, not far from Winston-Salem, or Greensboro.  Overlooking the vineyard, the tasting room is a great place to enjoy the sunset and/or one of the many activities planned each week. We enjoyed a wonderful evening sampling new wines, eating great food and meeting new friends.

This image was shot with my 50mm compact macro lens, ISO200, f2.5.
View Large.

As soon as the rest of the winery shots are edited, I’ll provide a link HERE.

~ by dorisrudddesigns on July 24, 2011.

23 Responses to “Impatient for Dinner”

  1. Makes me think about when I raised these little birds when they had fallen out of their nest. Memories are beautiful. Love how photos spark those memories.

  2. Amazing DOF and saturation levels. Great photo!

  3. Love it!

  4. great shot!

  5. Brilliant, is the word … and so is the title!

  6. Amazing catch and with very shallow depth of field too!

  7. Incredible shot…

  8. fab :> looks like he’s demanding some worms :-)

  9. Doris, I must say this is my all time favorite shots of yours. It is so rare and beautiful, awesome work!!

  10. An exquisite photograph, Doris. Your photos always amaze me.

  11. What an incredible image!! Amazing to see his mouth wide open like this. Terrific moment captured…

  12. Nice shot !

  13. great shot!

  14. amazing picture!

  15. Amazing photo! Poor little guy looks like he’s screaming at the top of his lungs.

  16. Love it!

  17. Such a colourful creature, fantastic shot!

  18. Awesome. I always laugh at the ruckus made by a mama bird because many times I wouldn’t even know there was a nest nearby without her calling attention to it. On another note, I had a great uncle named Junius and haven’t seen that name again until now.

  19. That photo is priceless. That baby bird is darling. I would love to take a vacation to Welcome, NC to do a little wine tasting at Junius Lindsay Vineyard. We need to expand our wine tasting from our MissouREE vineyards :)

  20. You’re photos always amazed me!

  21. Fantastic, Doris!

  22. oh my gosh, how adorable! how did you capture this? a secret nest?

  23. Doris that is an absolutely brilliant shot! I am so happy to have stopped by!!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

