Red Eared Slider; Turtle No. 2

The North Carolina Aquarium at Pine Knoll Shores has very accommodating and curious turtles. Though from the expression on the face of this turtle, I believe he looks a little bored.

This shot was slated as my pick of the week last week, until I realized, after doing turtle research, my shot of Baby Nimbus (white loggerhead turtle) was special.  I blogged about that cute little fellow several days ago so now this guy has my full attention. I’m told that it’s a Red Eared Slider and looking at photos on-line I think that’s correct.

To capture this image in the near dark building, I pushed the ISO on my camera all the way to 3200. When I opened the image in Photoshop I expected noise to be a problem. And of course, it was. I really liked the image and rather than spend a lot of time trying to reduce the noise, I decided to embrace it. I added two textures to the image, the first by Kim KlassenSoft Shale (soft light mode, 40% opacity, layer mask around the turtle). The second texture, by SkeletalMess — Softly Aged Black and White (multiply mode, 100% opacity, layer mask applied to certain areas to darken). The second layer positioned above the first.

Shot with 24-105mm lens at 35mm, ISO3200, f4.0, exposure compensation -.33. View large.

~ by dorisrudddesigns on July 3, 2011.

17 Responses to “Red Eared Slider; Turtle No. 2”

  1. Good day! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are
    you using for this site? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve
    had issues with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform. Chun iron tablets tinnitus ringing ears tinnitus symptoms

  2. Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this website daily, this website is genuinely nice and the viewers are really sharing pleasant thoughts. http://www.bookmarksmash.com tinnitus relief youtube Winona

  3. great picture. :)

  4. awesome, clear capture! amazing! and thank you for visiting my site, too!

  5. Your hard work has really paid off. This is quite stunning.
    The colours both above and below the waterline. Two thirds underwater, one third above. i wander how much time you got to think about the composition. Doesn’t matter, it worked.

  6. I love watching turtles swimming around . . . they do look bored. :D

  7. Sorry, Doris! I had Carol on my brain when I commented!! Forgive me!

  8. Love your blog, Carol! This shot is very cool and interesting! I love that you give the “recipe” for this shot! It’s so helpful to those of us who love to learn!

    Thank you for stopping by my blog…the reason you couldn’t find the images is because I made a collosal mistake last week. I was “cleaning up” my Picasa album, thinking that I’d get rid of the blog album because it was “redundant.” Little did I know that to have the images show up on my blog they had to be in Picasa. ALLLLLLL the images from my blog are gone, never to be retrieved. I could go back in and add them again (as I did in a few recent posts) but that would be really tough to do.

    Live and learn, right!!

  9. I love turtles and this shot is just awesome !!

  10. Very neat! I love that you post how you do the editing. I have so much to learn.

  11. Looks like a magical turtle. cool picture.

  12. SUPER cute Doris! I love the little guy!

  13. This little guy is gorgeous!! I don’t think I ever realized how colorful they are. Wonderful capture!

  14. Awesome shot! Great editing!!!

  15. Colourful fellow :D Great shot!

  16. Wow such a cool shot!

  17. Wow! It’s been many years since I was trained in Photoshop. Thankfully, the basics are still the same. Thank you for explaining your editing process. Great photo!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

