Sanderling Sunrise

Week of June 5, 2011 by drdesignsThis blog post was inspired by the WordPress Photo Challenge this week. The theme is “Morning”. Over the past year I’ve blogged about several morning images. Early light is phenomenal. Sunrise, daybreak, dawn, break of day, sunup, first blush are all beautiful synonyms for this time of day. Out of curiosity, I searched my blog for the word Morning. Surprisingly 27 Blog Posts have the word Morning in the copy or tag.

One of my favorite morning shots, taken April 2010, is Geraniums in Morning Light. The morning light illuminated the flower and the light filtering through the trees created beautiful bokeh. This is an image I return to again and again.

The photo I’m blogging about this week was taken at Emerald Isle, NC – October of 2010. When I choose an image to blog about then, I didn’t chose this shot. I went with another photo of a Sanderling taken later in the day when the sun was casting wonderful shadows. I love both images and this one came immediately to mind for this week’s theme. Finally, a chance to blog about one of the many sunrise images taken that trip. Looking back I’m surprised none of those early morning shots made it onto my blog. Considering how early I pulled myself out of bed (on vacation) to get these shots, I’m really happy for the chance to use one.

This photo was taken with my 85mm lens, ISO400, f2.8, exposure compensation +.33. View large.

~ by dorisrudddesigns on June 11, 2011.

29 Responses to “Sanderling Sunrise”

  1. Beautiful!

  2. gorgeous light and color. takes me back sunrise at Virginia Beach when I was child.

  3. That is just soo BEAUTIFUL !!!

  4. That’s one sunrise I want to see first thing when I wake up. Beautiful.

  5. Hi! Great Image!! nice reflections….I too enjoy shooting in early morning light, though need to prepare better :-)
    please check out my early morning post http://4otomo.wordpress.com/2011/07/07/golden-hour-lessons/

    http://www.4otomo.wordpress.com

  6. Beautiful picture, makes me wish I was there. I love the beach and ocean.

  7. Nice shot and have to agree no better time for photography.
    It can be a struggle to get up at 3:30 in the morning to get somewhere for sun up but always worth it..
    Just done a 12 hour shoot in london 6 in the evening through to 6 in the morning. got some nice shots but it nearly killed me lol

  8. Stunning image!! Love its simplicity…its color..its peaceful silent beauty. Early morning is the best time of all..isn’t it???

  9. When I saw this on Flickr I was immediately drawn to it. Such a lovely comp and soothing colors. Wish I was there!

  10. I love the mixtures of colors, the combination of the orangey + the hues of blue ♥

  11. Love it – I was at Vange Marshes yesterday watching the birds with my son. Horrible grey day :-( Wish it had been like this!

  12. The sky and the ocean wave are beautiful by themselves, but the bird on the beach makes the photo perfect!

  13. awesome!

  14. Great shot Doris – makes us miss NC very much, especially the East Coast beaches!

  15. Fantastic colour and light.

  16. Gorgeous shot! I am almost as good as there. Can’t beat the beach, the rolling waves and the ever present beach bird. I love the shadow you captured that the feathery guy is casting on the beach.

  17. wonderful! It’s like a scene from romantic movie :)

  18. nicely done! Shots like this remind me of a mis-spent youth surfing my summers away.

  19. I like it. It reminds me of mornings at the beach with my parents. We used to go every year when I was a kid. :)

  20. I have never been to Emerald Isle, NC; however, your picture made me want to go and visit. What a beautiful photograph! Thank you so much for sharing it with us. Truly beautiful!

  21. love the colors Doris! very evocative of morning time…beautiful

  22. stunning spectrum of colours!

  23. wonderful!

  24. Wonderful shot. I love the contrast of the bird blackened by the sun, in contast to the colors behind.

  25. Wonderful color and rich textures..

  26. [...] Related posts:  Weekly Photo Challenge ~ Morning * Brighten Your Day With A Song (Barb’s Blog) * Morning (The Only Cin) * Cock-A-Doodle-Moo (Flying G’ma) * Sanderling Sunrise (Doris Rudd Designs) [...]

  27. good photo!

  28. Great post. You almost make me want to greet the dawn. Almost.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

