41 :: 365

First Attempt at HDR

This is my first attempt at an HDR (high dynamic range) photograph. High Dynamic Range is acheived by shooting multiple exposures. Example, this image was made from combining 5 images together. Each image the exposure is set at a different light value; underexposed to overexposed. Then the images are combined and what you should end up with is an image with wonderful light and dark values. But, like anything, it takes practice.

Late this afternoon the clouds were so beautiful I thought I’d give it a shot. With the wind howling (high wind warnings in our area) and temperatures in the mid 30’s I grabbed the tri-pod and camera and took off. I went just around the corner from my house. The same location I shot the barn on Day 30 and the same place I shot the tree/snow/fog on Day 35.

I set up quickly; snapped what I needed and came home. Between the wind blowing and me shivering I don’t think the tri-pod was too steady.

To see some amazing HDR work Google Trey Ratcliff, John Adams, Domingo Leiva or Asmunder Thorkelsson.

~ by dorisrudddesigns on February 10, 2010.

3 Responses to “41 :: 365”

  1. I am smitten by your 365 Project! Really enjoying your style of photography. Great job with your first HDR – I find great HDRs make you want to step into the image and explore. :)

    I found your Project through the grapevine of 365 Photographers. I look forward to viewing the rest of your project. Take care and be well!

  2. Wow, I have yet to try this! You did wonderful. I hope to see more :)

  3. For your first attempt that is truly amazing, the contrasts and tones are excellent. The sky is very vivid. Well done.

    Si

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

